Blueberry Yogurt Multigrain Pancakes

541A8554

Whenever NTUC has discounts on blueberries, my mother would spam buy, hence it is no wonder that I had 8 boxes of blueberries sitting in my fridge last night. Since today’s a lazy Saturday (considering that CNY is coming and not considering that my exams are 2 weeks away), it calls for brunch ๐Ÿ™‚ And brunch means pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausages and salad!!

541A8572 541A8567

I’ve tried tons of pancake recipes and I think I’m going to settle on this one because it’s healthy, the ingredients are always in my pantry and I get thick, fluffy pancakes! Even though there’s wholemeal flour in the pancake, it still tasted amazing and as fluffy and normal as any other pancake made entirely from all-purpose flour. My mom was surprised when I told her that there was wholemeal flour in there. And of course, she instantly liked the pancakes a bit more because wholemeal flour = healthy (my mom’s a health freak btw). I used my own home-made yogurt for the pancakes (the recipe is here) but it’s the same as using store-bought ones. Though if you are using greek yogurt, add 2 tablespoons of milk to thin it.

If you find making pancakes a daunting and tiring task (especially since frying them is a pain), fret not because I have compiled a list of tips for you! ๐Ÿ™‚

#1 Always separate your egg whites from your egg yolks
Whisk your egg whites with sugar to stiff peaks and add it in only at the last step so that you will have fluffy pancakes!

#2 Do not oil/ butter your frying pan
I tried buttering my pan before and I ended up with a burnt pancake which made me curse and swear hahaha. Nothing beats the feeling of flipping the pancake and seeing that it is of a nice even brown colour. So that means no oil or butter on your pan if you want your pancake to brown evenly!

#3 Place the blueberries/ other fruits only after you place the batter on the pan
This makes sure that you don’t have blueberries running all over the pan and burnt blueberries.

541A8505

#4 Only flip the pancake when bubbles start appearing on the surface

Flipping it before the bubbles appear would result in pale, dense, undercooked pancakes; basically adjectives you don’t want to associate your pancake with. After bubbles start appearing, peek underneath to check if your pancake has browned. If it has, FLIP IT!!!

541A8513

#5 Perfect pancakes belong to Mcdonalds
I have given up on attempting to make perfectly round pancakes. Just dump the batter on the pan, let it spread out to assume whatever shape it wants, flip it over, let the batter spread out a bit more and not freak out, and eat the pancake.

541A8508

Makes 12 to 14 4-inch pancakes

Ingredients
2 large eggs, separated
1 cup plain, full-fat yogurt
3 tbsp salted butter, melted
1/2 tsp lemon zest
62g wholemeal flour
100g all-purpose flour
2 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp + 1 tsp baking powder
1 cup blueberries, rinsed and dried

Directions
1. Whisk egg yolks and yogurt together.
2. Whisk in melted butter and lemon zest.
3. In a separated bowl, mix the wholemeal flour, all-purpose flour and baking powder.
4. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. Do not overmix! It is alright if there are lumps, you should get a thick batter.
5. Whisk the egg whites with sugar until stiff peaks.
6. Fold in the eggs whites into the batter.
7. Heat the pan and fry! Flip the pancakes when bubbles start appearing on the surface.
8. You can keep the pancakes warm in a preheated oven of 100 degrees Celsius.

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Yogurt Multigrain Pancakes

Leave a Reply

